Do you want to allow this app to make changes to this device...

Forums: 

Hello,

On my test computer I have a user with limited rights. When I open other programs I have no problems/prompts, but when I open BleachBit I get the message below......(Note: The application still opens after...)

"Do you want to allow this application to make changes to this device?"

I checked a little further and it seems the publishers certificate ran out 9/29/2017. Does this make any difference?

Thank you,
Tony H.

ROCKNROLLKID's picture

Hello. Sorry for late reply. On Windows Vista+, there is a feature called UAC. Because BleachBit needs permissions to delete certain files off the system, this message pops up. If you click no, it should still open, however it may not be able to delete every file it is trying to clean.

The publisher certificate needs to be renew, yes, but the popup will still appear even after it is renewed. I am sure Andrew will renew it when the next stable build is released.

____________________
Also known as Alex.

Moderator for BleachBit and a maintainer for Winapp2.

Check out my open-source group on Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/groups/opencommunity

Windows 10 x64 (switching to ReactOS in the future).

Yes, ROCKNROLLKID is correct that BleachBit runs best with administrator privileges, but it can also be mostly effective without it.

While that certificate expired, the certification of all software that was published during its validity period is still valid. In other words, BleachBit versions 1.0 through 1.17 are digitally signed with (two) expired certificates, but Microsoft Windows will continue to recognize the signatures as valid.

For more than one month I have been working to renew the certificate, so I can publish the next release. The company that offers the certificates is very thorough. I've sent notarized documents twice, and they still need more proof. It's not a quick or cheap process. Right now I'm waiting on them to recognize the last requirement.

---
Andrew, lead developer

Is it possible to prevent this message from coming up? Its a nuisance.

Thank you,
Tony.

Tony, do you want the answer to always be yes or always no?

If always yes, disable UAC in Windows, but that is a security risk.

if always no, run the shortcut called "BleachBit No AUC," but some functionality will not be available.

---
Andrew, lead developer