Rumours about creating empty dummy files by Bleachbit?

Forums: 

Hi all,

I've done some more reading about Bleachbit and as i already asked here if Bleachbit is safe (http://bleachbit.sourceforge.net/forum/bleachbit-linux-how-safe-it) i also come across some rumours that Bleachbit is creating empty dummy files when interrupting its cleaning actions. I know from my time using Windows that some clean-up tools created empty files or files containing cleaned up rubbish, i never noticed this with Bleachbit, maybe never aware of this.

As this looks like as some kind of a rumour i would like to know if this rumour is a fact or not?
Does Bleachbit create empty dummy files when interrupting the cleaning process(es)? And if so, were does Bleachbit write these empty files?

ROCKNROLLKID's picture

Where did you read that? You need to watch of what you hear on the internet. You always get those people who like to spread rumors just for attention. Stuff like Reddit and 4-Chan are hot zones for that.

I remember, I think it was in 1.0, where BleachBit use to create a very large file if the wipe space was interrupted during its wiping mode and would consume a lot to all of the remaining free space.

One topic is located here: http://bleachbit.sourceforge.net/forum/free-disc-space-added-200gb

I can assure you, though, that this issue was never done deliberately and has been resolved for a very long time and have not seen an issue like arose again.

____________________
Also known as Alex.

Moderator for BleachBit and a maintainer for Winapp2.

Check out my open-source group on Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/groups/opencommunity

Windows 10 x64 (switching to ReactOS in the future).

If you mean "empty" as zero bytes in size, BleachBit 1.8 does not create any such files. A while ago on Linux BleachBit did this as a way to erase traces of metadata as part of the "wipe free disk space" command.

Also as part of the "wipe free disk space" command, BleachBit 1.8 (on Windows and Linux) creates a large file file that is "empty" in the sense that it has no information, but it does take up space. When called from the tree view (on the left), the location of this file is controlled through the preferences menu. When called from the file menu, the system prompts the user for the location. If creating this file is not desired, do not use "wipe free disk space."

If the application is closed prematurely, BleachBit will try to delete this file as it closes (since BleachBit 1.2). If the application is killed hard (e.g., turning off the power to the machine), then the delete must be triggered manually. By default the large file is located in ~/.config on Linux and %TEMP% on Windows (since BleachBit 1.2) to make it easier to clean.

So in summary, I believe BleachBit is safe to use. Feel free to reference any specific rumors, and a URL would be interesting.

---
Andrew, lead developer