Error in execution of Command to delete

Forums: 

Hi,

In Windows 7 using 1.10 I see these error messages;

Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Windows\PFRO.log
Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Windows\setupact.log
Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Windows\setuperr.log
Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Windows\WindowsUpdate.log
Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Windows\Debug\PASSWD.LOG
Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\ReportingEvents.log
Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\edb.chk
Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\edb.log
Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\edb00034.log
Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\edbres00001.jrs
Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore\Logs\edbres00002.jrs
Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Users\ASUS\Local Settings\Temp\FXSAPIDebugLogFile.txt
Error in execution of Command to delete C:\Users\ASUS\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\counters.dat

Disk space recovered: 22.1MB
Files deleted: 37
Special operations: 12
Errors:

Is this now because in 1.10 it reports files it can't delete, like those in use by the system, etc., is what these errors are?

Here is the bleachbit.ini;

[list/shred_drives]

[preserve_languages]
en = True

[bleachbit]
hashsalt = 81951a4eb0eb09d5f8361906dc38db193c43a4bb9415934e62ecda7868f67e252d33a0e1755358ef0a999cc696bcde22d0d5d3d93c3aabac6b937847a21f6771
update_winapp2 = False
check_beta = False
units_iec = False
check_online_updates = False
first_start = True
auto_hide = False
version = 1.10
auto_start = False
shred = False
delete_confirmation = True
exit_done = False

[tree]
firefox = True
windows_explorer.mru = True
system.prefetch = True
system.recycle_bin = True
wordpad = True
windows_explorer.run = True
internet_explorer = True
firefox.url_history = True
firefox.site_preferences = True
firefox.download_history = True
windows_explorer.search_history = True
system.logs = True
firefox.vacuum = True
firefox.session_restore = True
flash = True
system = True
paint = True
firefox.dom = True
microsoft_office = True
windows_media_player = True
system.muicache = True
windows_defender.history = True
firefox.cookies = True
firefox.forms = True
firefox.cache = True
firefox.backup = True
internet_explorer.temporary_files = True
flash.cache = True
firefox.passwords = True
wordpad.mru = True
internet_explorer.cookies = True
windows_media_player.mru = True
system.clipboard = True
internet_explorer.history = True
windows_explorer.thumbnails = True
windows_explorer = True
windows_explorer.recent_documents = True
system.memory_dump = True
microsoft_office.debug_logs = True
system.tmp = True
microsoft_office.mru = True
flash.cookies = True
paint.mru = True
internet_explorer.forms = True
windows_defender = True
firefox.crash_reports = True
system.custom = True

[hashpath]

The second time I ran bleachbit it didn't give me any of these errors, so I don't get why this happened, and now it's not...

hmm

But I'll report back if I see it again.

Yes, it basically means those files are locked.

1. In BleachBit click Help - System Information
2. Look for the line with "win32com.shell.shell.IsUserAnAdmin()"
3. Let me know whether it is True or False

---
Andrew, lead developer

It's on True...

Just after I installed 1.10 and ran it for the first time it gave me these errors, so I don't get that...

If you need, I can uninstall it and make sure all registry entries are cleared out and install and test it again, to see if this is a bug running it the first time?

I noticed this always seems to appear when running Bleachbit without UAC, but if I run bleachbit as normal, I never see these messages.

Just because Bleachbit can't delete, which it shouldn't be deleting system files that a user has no rights to, Bleachbit shouldn't be displaying these error messages, I think it will only help to confuse users.

Yes, I agree. I hope to have this fixed for then next stable release.

---
Andrew, lead developer

Ok so you've seen the same behaviour, with it showing these error messages when running it with UAC disabled, and in normal mode nothing?